Johnny Rockets (The Original Hamburger)

Ground Floor, Eastwood Mall,Libis, Quezon City | (December 20, 2014)

 What better way to start the 5-days before Christmas countdown but by eating and with your closest friends right? Honestly, I do like to hang out and eat in a different restaurant or wherever my stomach likes to eat. We had a schedule with our friends to hang out in Eastwood, Libis in Quezon City as we have not tried there yet and of course, we can. 🙂

It was that difficult to choose which restaurant to eat. Every where you look, most of it are restaurants, bar and tiange. We tried walking a short distance more and we all agreed to try Johnny Rockets as they are known because of their “Shakes and Malts“. So.. We went in and it looks like you have entered an American fast food from the 80’s from the way on every detail is set up. They have their own bar corner where you can see the chefs prepare your order, they have dine in chairs and tables just like from the old days, They even have a decorative mini-version of jukebox on every table.

The Kitchen

The Kitchen

Miniature Jukebox

Miniature Jukebox

We would like to try their different menu’s so,  we have ordered their hamburger steak, The President’s Burger, Route 66 Burger. We also agreed on getting their shake of the day “Mocha Fudge”. I was the one who ordered the President’s Burger with a not-so-friendly price. We ordered it for P495.00, P225.00 for the Hamburger Steak and P370.00 for the Route 66 Burger. Ultimately, not a good start as these prices are higher compared to other burger houses that I have been to.

Curious about their menu? Check the picture below:

Johnny Rockets Menu

Johnny Rockets Menu

Now, I have to make some comments about the burger bun. I did not see anything different with the bun compared to large buns that I buy from grocery stores. Some burger houses do have some sesame seeds but the burger I had did not even have anything special in and on it. The President’s Burger consists of the following : thick bacon, fresh lettuce, ripe tomatoes, chopped onions, relish, pickle, mustard, mayonnaise and cheddar cheese.

The President's Burger

The President’s Burger

The good thing after eating the burger, is of course its taste. Nothing too biggie if the bun does not have any special taste to it but the taste of the burger really matters. But of course, I still cannot believe that for this burger, I should be paying P495.00. Do you agree? I mean, I can get Zarks’ Tombstone or their Jawbreaker for a lower price. Well, we cannot blame ’em. It’s their price and customers are the ones ordering, so let’s just leave it to them.

Let me add something about the fries which comes with the President’s Burger. We were curious if we can add some cheese with our fries but then, disaster. If you will see in the picture, the fries looks like sticking to each other. Looks like it got some glue on it. Well, you guessed it well. We really cannot get just a piece of the fries without holding the other ones sticking to it. It looks messy when you do it. To add something, it does not really have a cheese flavor at all. If you requested for a cheese, you will get charged for additional P60, so I guess, never ever try to have melted cheese on your fries.

Here’s another burger that we have tried which is their Route 66 burger with cheddar cheese, grilled mushrooms, grilled onions and mayonnaise. I am not that sure about the taste because I never have tasted it. So we will just leave it to those who tried it.

Route 66

Route 66

Now goes our dessert. Our dessert was a treat by a late birthday celebrant. We ordered their mocha fudge shake (or there may be a different name). This one really made my brain freeze. It’s quite sweet but the consistency of the shake is well made and I love it. I am not sure about the price though but you can get it for P150+ pesos only. This is a must-try for me.

Mocha Fudge Shake

Mocha Fudge Shake

And oh, I forgot to mention. The staff also do a random dance to entertain their customers. It’s up to you to decide whether you like their performance or not because to me? It really lacks “performance”. 😀 I hope they really push it to what their body can do best. Remember, your customers are the ones paying you.

Staffs Dancing

Staffs Dancing

Ultimately, I still enjoy the evening because of their shake. But I have to think twice or probably thrice if I will buy their burgers again. 🙂

To know more about Johnny Rockets. Please check their website by clicking the image below. I hope this blog helped you in some ways. 🙂 Till next time.

Johnny Rockets (The Original Hamburger)

Johnny Rockets (The Original Hamburger)

Leave a Reply

